top of page
Search

Encapsulating with behaviors

I didn't work on games yesterday, but I did create my second song for my January Creative Challenge 2k21. Check it out if you want to make a sandwich!

Today however was no day for music, but a day to once again try my hand at getting some functional encapsulation going on with gdevelops behaviors. I've tried for a couple of my past games, but always with too many different moving parts (tweens, timers, etc) and I didn't have a good enough grasp on gdevelop to get around the issues I ran into. That being said, I'm hitting the point where just making functions for everything is causing a lot of debugging issues so I finally bit the bullet and took it on.

The biggest issues I ran into were my own sloppy naming conventions, lack of proper planning, and misremembering where I stored variables. This is the best outcome because I can improve on those things without much effort! Overall once it was working, that feeling was the best. I feel like future development will speedup at least 50% since I've been having to fight the urge to encapsulate everything.

Active petals now show an effect without having to hover, making movement a lot clearer. The wonderful bee can now move around to the flowers that are beside them with 1 less petal, or flowers of the same type with fewer petals. I'm thinking about making it so the bee can move to any flower of the same type, but I'll choose after playing it some. Step 103/1000

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page